Reading Rainbow Kickstarter

I don’t know about you, but I love reading.  I loved it since I can remember, and while I didn’t need PBS shows to make me love it more, they certainly didn’t hurt.  Between the Lions was fun enough, and I loved Barney when I was a wee little thing, but there are just some classics I can’t imagine being without.  At the top, upon a golden pedestal, is Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood.  Right below that is Reading Rainbow.

And now, many years later, there’s a Kickstarter campaign to bring Reading Rainbow further into the modern era- onto the kinds of media surrounding children today, and even right into school rooms.  Because it’s not so much the skills I believe in… I believe this program could foster a love for reading- create it where there would be none otherwise.  And that’s something you can’t teach in a classroom with homework and rigor.

So please, if you have the time and inclination, support Reading Rainbow.  If you have kids- great!  Kickstarter rewards include lots of great packages that give your kids some of these resources we’re funding, all the way up to getting the program into a classroom or school of your choice.  If you just loved Geordi, that’s great too- how about an autograph, or a con, or a picnic, or wearing his visor?

Leave a Reply

