Mental leaps and logic breaks

There’s this professor I know.  He’s an absolute genius, but he never sounds like it.

This professor’s brain works about 3x faster than his speech center and 5x faster than his mouth, so he constantly stutters or makes prolonged vowel sounds or has to back up and fill in the steps he skipped.  He makes mental leaps trying to catch up to himself, and it makes it quite hard to learn.

We even defined his last name as a verb to describe such an action.

I think a lot of people (writers included) tend to “pull a [name redacted].”

I’ve seen a lot of people in general, including writers (and including myself) who make dangerous mental leaps because we know where we’re going.  People do it in arguments, or even just in comments.  We know what we think, and it’s easy to skip the gooey filling.  Or sometimes we insert something that we know is related in some fundamental and important way, but don’t manage to connect it perfectly.

I’ve found that I have a lot of trouble double-checking myself too, because I know what I meant to say and don’t necessarily read what’s on the page.

Editors point out breaks in reasoning, explanation, and continuity all the time.  But I want their jobs to be easier, at least where my work is concerned… does anyone have any suggestions?  I’m not sure if there’s a method for this or if it’s just trial and error and re-reading.Additionally, if someone is guilty of this sort of leap and staunchly believes they haven’t made one, how do you correct them?  I’ve met some stubborn individuals (that think they’re perfect logical paragons) that need some correction.

Leave a Reply

