My Problem 2: A WD Prompt

“Finish these sentences: “I have a little bit of a problem. I like to ______. It all started when I was ______, when _______.” Use this as a jumping point into a fictional story.”
-Writer’s Digest Creative Writing Prompt: My Problem

My response:

“I have a bit of a… problem.

“I like to, well… you know.  That’s why I’m here, ain’t it?

“It all started when I’s younger, when this… this thing… sorta… happened..  I’s just, you know… and things sort of just… snowballed from there.  I didn’t think it was a big deal when I sta’ted… it was just… I don’t know… everybody else was doin’ it, you know?  Was I so wrong?  It seemed so harmless and innocent… I never thought anyone could get hurt.

“But now it’s too late.  I wish I had known, back then, you know?  Then maybe it woulda worked out differently.  Not like this…

“My mama always said growin’ up was all about takin’ responsibility and not just learnin’ from mistakes, but tryin’ t’ fix ‘em too.  But I dunno if this can be fixed.  Some things just stay broke.

“I dunno if what I’m doin’ is gonna change anythin’.  It won’t fer me, I know.  It’s too damn late fer me, but maybe… maybe you got a chance.  I guess that’s why I’m really here t’day.  I wanna make sure you know you got a choice, an’ it don’t hafta be the same choice as all th’ other kids’re makin.

“I hope you make the most of it.”

~Generic PSA~

Leave a Reply

