Humble Beginnings: Teaser

We all had to start somewhere, didn’t we?  Sometimes that place is… horrible.

My about goes into detail, but suffice it to say… it’s bad.

I’ve heard the opinion that your first million words should be burned, never to see the light of day…  But I’m a very sentimental person, and I still have all those notebooks from 8th grade.  I have all that wonderful, horrible material.

Why do I bring this up?  Because I think I want to post some of it.

Why on earth would I do that?  Well, there are a few reasons…

First, because it’s hilarious.

Second, because it might provide a fun exercise in how I might re-write those passages if I was going to do it all over again… and not suck.

Third, and don’t take this as an accusation, but…  I’ll never post any of my best work on the internet.

Why?  Ask the great Lobachevsky.  Don’t get the joke?  No Lehrer fans? Lame.  In any case… I don’t want anything stolen.  I want my work to benefit me, not some jerk somewhere else.  So I won’t post my best, most awesome stuff or anything too in detail about unpublished work.  Similarly, I don’t spend hours polishing WD prompts, purely for the same reason.  I’m not going to hand someone a finished, awesome piece, because I’m just too darn lazy to search the internet for violations and beat my chest trying to get justice.

But… this kind of limits me in what I can post.  And this seemed like a fun idea.

So… you can probably look forward to a bit of that in the future.  I hope we can have a bit of a giggle and a whole lot of fun.  Feel free to share your own horrible stuff.  We can laugh, attempt rewrites, laugh, and maybe learn something.

Love eternal,

Svapne

Leave a Reply

