Beginning […] The End

I know, usually, where I’d like to start.  I have my point A.

I know, usually, where I’d like to end.  I have my point B.

For me, it’s only natural to write what I know, and wait for inspiration to show itself so I can write a part here or there.  The Worldtree Trilogy is a mess of sporadic passages and half-finished chapters, written whenever the mood strikes me.  (My poor boyfriend is my acting editor, and he no longer has any idea what the timeline of events is like because of this.)  I’ve been trying very hard to write in a linear fashion; The Bizarre is the first project written mostly in order.  But I recently had a huge bout of inspiration for the end, and, so as not to waste it and forget everything, I fell to temptation.  I wrote the end.

So, I ask you, how do you write?  Is it a bad habit to write the beginning and the end and fill things in as you think of them?  Is it bad instead to try to force things in a linear manner only to be disappointed by the course of things later?

Am I weird, or is this normal?

2 thoughts on “Beginning […] The End

  1. Sometimes having an end works even better for a story. It serves as a lighthouse to direct your writing ship towards. Actually, I think creativity can hardly be structural unless you make it so, let alone inspiration. If the story comes in pieces, let it be, live and grow by itself, and them put the pieces into place – that’s what I do anyway. Having said that, I can’t but mention that writing without planning is like diving into the unknown waters – you never know if you’re ever going to surface again (may or may not apply to short pieces, but surely does to long stories and novels). In the end, I think, the result is what really matters for the reader, not the way it was achieved.)

    • Svapne says:

      I think the only way (wll, maybe not the ONLY way) people can get in trouble by writing the end first is if they fall in love with the ending they decide upon and won’t compromise. Then the story, though it may want to go somewhere else, is forced to conform. I haven’t had that problem, yet, but it’s probably because I only decide broad things- like which of my primary characters live and whether good or evil triumph. Lots of my endings are brought back home to those couple of important characters, or branch out completely into how the world was shaped by the events. Either is general enough that I don’t get locked in too much.

Leave a Reply

